Gluten Free Food Cheat Sheet

This table was my life-saver when I first began a gluten free life. I bookmarked this table in my phone, so I always had access to this information. I used this sheet to ensure I was eating gluten free while I was grocery shopping, eating out and even cooking.

Save this gluten free cheat sheet to your smart phone, IPOD, IPAD or go ‘old school’ and stick a printed copy in your purse. This is great information to always have with you.

Gluten Free Food Cheat Sheet:

Courtesy of Mama’s Health.
Food Products Foods Allowed Foods to Question Foods Not Allowed
Milk Products Milk, cream, most ice cream, buttermilk, plain yogurt, cheese, cream cheese, processed cheese, processed cheese foods, cottage cheese Milk drinks, flavored yogurt, frozen yogurt, sour cream, cheese sauces, cheese spreads Malted milk, ice cream made with ingredients not allowed
Grain Products Breads: Bread and baked products containing amaranth, arrowroot, buckwheat, corn bran, corn flour, corn meal, cornstarch, flax, legume flours (bean, garbanzo or chickpea, garfava, lentil, pea), millet, potato flour, potato starch, quinoa, rice bran, rice flours (white, brown, sweet), sago, sorghum flour, soy flour, sweet potato flour, tapioca and teff Buckwheat flour, oats Bread and baked products containing wheat, rye, triticale, barley, wheat germ, wheat bran, graham flour, gluten flour, durum flour, wheat starch, oat bran, bulgur, farina, wheat based semolina, spelt, kamut, einkorn, emmer, farro, imported foods labelled “Gluten-free” which may contain ingredients not allowed, e.g. wheat starch.
Cereals:Hot: Amaranth flakes, cornmeal, cream of buckwheat, cream of rice (brown, white), hominy grits, rice flakes, quinoa flakes, soy flakes and soy gritsCold: Puffed amaranth, puffed buckwheat, puffed corn, puffed millet, puffed rice, rice flakes and soy cereals Rice and corn cereals, rice and soy pablum Cereals made from wheat, rye, triticale, barley and oats; cereals with added malt extract or malt flavoring
Pastas: Macaroni, spaghetti, and noodles from beans, corn, pea, potato, quinoa, rice, soy and wild rice Buckwheat pasta Pasta made from wheat, wheat starch and other ingredients not allowed
Miscellaneous: Corn tacos, corn tortillas Rice crackers, some rice cakes and popped corn cakes Wheat flour tacos, wheat tortillas
Meats and Alternatives Meat, Fish, Poultry: Fresh Prepared or preserved meats such as luncheon meat, ham, bacon, meat and sandwich spreads, meat loaf, frozen meat patties, sausages, paté, wieners, bologna, salami, imitation meat or fish products, meat product extenders Fish canned in vegetable broth containing HVP/HPP where the source is not identified or is from wheat protein
Eggs: Fresh eggs Egg substitutes, dried eggs
Others: lentils, chickpeas (garbanzo beans), peas, beans, nuts, seeds, tofu Baked beans, dry roasted nuts, peanut butter
Fruits and Vegetables Fruits: Fresh, frozen and canned fruits and juices Vegetables: Fresh, frozen, dried and canned Fruit pie fillings, dried fruits, fruits or vegetables with sauces, French-fried potatoes (esp. those in restaurants) Scalloped potatoes (containing wheat flour) Battered dipped vegetables
Soups Homemade broth, gluten-free bouillon cubes, cream soups and stocks made from ingredients allowed Canned soups, dried soup mixes, soup bases and bouillon cubes Soups made with ingredients not allowed, bouillon and bouillon cubes containing HVP, HPP or wheat
Fats Butter, margarine, lard, vegetable oil, cream, shortening, homemade salad dressing with allowed ingredients Salad dressings, some mayonnaise Packaged suet
Desserts Ice cream, sherbet, whipped toppings, egg custards, gelatin desserts; cakes, cookies, pastries made with allowed ingredients, Gluten-free ice cream cones, wafers and waffles Milk puddings, custard powder, pudding mixes Ice cream made with ingredients not allowed; cakes, cookies, muffins, pies and pastries made with ingredients not allowed; ice cream cones, wafers and waffles made with ingredients not allowed
Miscellaneous Beverages: Tea, instant or ground coffee (regular or decaffeinated), cocoa, soft drinks, cider; distilled alcoholic beverages such as rum, gin, whiskey, vodka, wines and pure liqueurs; some soy and rice beverages Instant tea, coffee substitutes, fruit-flavored drinks, chocolate drinks, chocolate mixes, flavored and herbal teas Beer, ale and lager; cereal and malted beverages; soy or rice beverages made with barley or oats
Sweets: Honey, jam, jelly, marmalade, corn syrup, maple syrup, molasses, sugar (brown and white) Icing sugar (confectioner’s sugar), candies, chocolate bars, chewing gum, marshmallows and lemon curd Licorice, Smarties® and other candies made with ingredients not allowed
Snack foods: Plain popcorn, nuts and soy nuts Dry roasted nuts, flavored potato chips, tortilla chips and soy nuts Pizza, unless made with ingredients allowed
Condiments: Plain pickles, relish, olives, ketchup, mustard, tomato paste, pure herbs and spices, pure black pepper, vinegars (apple or cider, distilled white, grape or wine, spirit), gluten-free soy sauce Seasoning mixes, imitation pepper Soy sauce (made from wheat), mustard pickles (made from wheat flour), Malt vinegar, Worcestershire sauce (contains malt vinegar)
Other: Sauces and gravies made with ingredients allowed, pure cocoa, pure baking chocolate, carob chips and powder, chocolate chips, monosodium glutamate (MSG), cream of tartar, baking soda, yeast, brewer’s yeast, aspartame, coconut, gluten-free communion wafers Baking powder Sauces and gravies made from ingredients not allowed, hydrolyzed vegetable/plant protein (HVP/HPP), communion wafers 


8 Responses to Gluten Free Food Cheat Sheet

  1. Pingback: 5 Simple Steps to a Gluten Free Lifestyle | GlutenRight

  2. Pingback: What is Gluten? | GlutenRight

  3. Pingback: Gluten Free Menu Tips | GlutenRight

  4. Pingback: Are Dove Chocolates Gluten Free | GlutenRight

  5. Pingback: Is Vinegar Safe for Celiacs? | GlutenRight

  6. Pingback: 5 Simple Steps to a Gluten Free Life | GlutenRight

  7. Renny O'Connor

    Many people who avoid gluten are able to eat oats….you should place that in the questionable column instead of the avoiding column….the protein found in oats that makes celiacs react is not gluten but rather a really similar protein that they must avoid. Additionally, it is advised not to consume them because of cross-contamination, not that they naturally contain gluten. Bob’s Red Mill makes great gluten-free oats to purchase at a decent price. For more info:

    • You are 100% correct. I enjoy Bob’s Red Mill oats everyday during the week for breakfast, I simply must have misplaced oats. Oats are simply at high risk for cross-contamination. Thank you for the comment!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>