Is Coca Cola Gluten Free?

According to Coca-Cola’s website, none of their brands contain gluten, milk, egg or soy. The Coca-Cola Company made the following statement on their website:

“Yes. None of the Coca-Cola or Schweppes brands contains gluten, milk, egg or soy. People with gluten intolerance or celiac disease should talk to their healthcare provider about including soft drinks as part of their diet.”

Coca Cola is only able to confirm the amount of gluten in all their products is very low. Some of the ingredients used such as caramel coloring are manufactured from plants that gluten-sensitive people may react to. Although none of their products appear to be made with gluten, some of their products contain the derivatives of them.

Caramel coloring is what gives Coca Cola and other dark colas their coloring. This coloring is used in other products such as soy sauce, seasonings and juices. In order for companies to meet Codex’s current definition of gluten free, products must contain less than 200ppm (parts per million) gluten. This means manufacturers may be labeling products as gluten free, when in fact they do contain some gluten.

The new Codex’s definition of gluten free is required to change in 2012 from less than 200ppm of gluten to less than 20ppm of gluten. The US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) does not have a regulatory definition of gluten-free at this time. However, the FDA is proposing to also require products with less than 20ppm of gluten in a product to be considered gluten free.

Yes, Coca Cola is technically gluten free. However, like any other product, only you are the best decision maker in deciding if you are intolerant to Coca Cola.

Beware of… Jimmy John’s Cheese?
Check out why Jimmy John’s lettuce wraps may be making you sick.

Subway Adding Gluten Free Items
One of the largest fast food chains is adding 2 new gluten free items two their menu!


4 Responses to Is Coca Cola Gluten Free?

  1. Pingback: Subway Adding Gluten Free Items | GlutenRight

  2. Pingback: Beware of… Jimmy John’s Cheese? | GlutenRight

  3. Pingback: Is Vinegar Safe for Celiacs? | GlutenRight

  4. Pingback: Are Snickers Gluten Free | GlutenRight

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>