Are Snickers Gluten Free?

Technically yes… According to Snickers website, the company has strict policies on clearly stating the eight most common allergenic foods: milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, soybeans and wheat.

A May contain <allergen>” statement is required to be clearly labeled in the ingredients section on every package for the eight common allergenic foods.

However, barley and rye are not included on the top 8 allergen list. This means barley and rye are not clearly labeled on the ingredients list, and at Mars snacks are at risk for gluten cross-contamination.

Milky Ways have barley, and if Snickers are made on the same equipment as them, the chance for cross-contamination is high enough not to risk for someone with Celiac.

It is important to listen to your body, and decide for yourself what you want to do. Maybe next time instead of grabbing a Snickers, grab a safer gluten free snack instead.

Is Coca Cola Gluten Free?
Is the caramel coloring in coca cola and other dark sodas safe to drink?

Mars Allergy Information
Check out more on Mars Snackfood US Policy on allergen labeling

If You Are Gluten Free, Avoid Snickers
See what others are saying about gluten and snickers’ ingredients.


5 Responses to Are Snickers Gluten Free?

  1. Pingback: Dove Chocolates Gluten Free | GlutenRight

  2. Pingback: Gluten Free Menu Tips | GlutenRight

  3. Pingback: Dining With Relatives and Friends | GlutenRight

  4. Pingback: Gluten Free Chocolate Snickers Cookies | GlutenRight

  5. Pingback: Flourless Gluten Free Chocolate Cake | GlutenRight

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>