Category Archives: Ordering Gluten-Free

Is Coca Cola Gluten Free?

According to Coca-Cola’s website, none of their brands contain gluten, milk, egg or soy. The Coca-Cola Company made the following statement on their website:

“Yes. None of the Coca-Cola or Schweppes brands contains gluten, milk, egg or soy. People with gluten intolerance or celiac disease should talk to their healthcare provider about including soft drinks as part of their diet.”

Coca Cola is only able to confirm the amount of gluten in all their products is very low. Some of the ingredients used such as caramel coloring are manufactured from plants that gluten-sensitive people may react to. Although none of their products appear to be made with gluten, some of their products contain the derivatives of them.

Caramel coloring is what gives Coca Cola and other dark colas their coloring. This coloring is used in other products such as soy sauce, seasonings and juices. In order for companies to meet Codex’s current definition of gluten free, products must contain less than 200ppm (parts per million) gluten. This means manufacturers may be labeling products as gluten free, when in fact they do contain some gluten.

The new Codex’s definition of gluten free is required to change in 2012 from less than 200ppm of gluten to less than 20ppm of gluten. The US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) does not have a regulatory definition of gluten-free at this time. However, the FDA is proposing to also require products with less than 20ppm of gluten in a product to be considered gluten free.

Yes, Coca Cola is technically gluten free. However, like any other product, only you are the best decision maker in deciding if you are intolerant to Coca Cola.

Beware of… Jimmy John’s Cheese?
Check out why Jimmy John’s lettuce wraps may be making you sick.

Subway Adding Gluten Free Items
One of the largest fast food chains is adding 2 new gluten free items two their menu!

Gluten Free Menu Tips

Ordering gluten free can be a tricky task at first. Here are some tips and key words to help you order gluten free.

Key Words to Watch Out For…
Breaded – the breading probably contains gluten
Fried
– possible cross-contamination with gluten foods
Stews and Soups
– many contain gluten for thickening
Gravies – usually contain gluten
Creamy Sauces
– many add gluten for thickening
Special Sauces – ask server about the ingredients
Seasonings
- some include gluten

Be cautious if special sauces include soy sauce, cheese sauces, BBQ sauce, Ketchup, Worcestershire Sauce and others listed on the the Gluten Free Food Cheat Sheet.

Are Snickers Gluten Free
Check out why Snickers may be making you sick.

Gluten Free Eating Out Tips
Learn more quick tips to dining out gluten free.

Gluten Free Eating Out Tips

Eating out can be especially difficult and risky for people living a gluten free lifestyle. There are many potentials for errors when other people are creating your meal.

It is difficult for the average person to comprehend all of the specifications gluten free entails. However, this does not mean you have to stay at home.

Here are some gluten free tips for dining out safely:

Don’t be afraid to speak up - Always be sure to describe your gluten intolerance as a health concern to servers so it is taken seriously.

◊ Advise the server gluten contains wheat, rye and barley. Be sure they understand to keep bread products away from your food.

◊  Order food without seasonings and sauces – this includes french fries and vegetables.

◊ Call the restaurant ahead of time – find out about gluten free options. Many restaurants now post gluten free options online. Check online before you go or on your phone while you are waiting for a table.

◊ Snack before hand – so your not vulnerable at the restaurant to consume something your not sure your allowed to because your hungry.

◊ Order simple dishes – such as vegetables and chicken.

◊ Ask your waiter for an allergy-free menu - most restaurants will be able to provide this for you.

◊  Order a salad without croutons- order a plain vinegar and oil for a dressing. A squirt of fresh lemon or an avocado will help add flavor to your salad if you prefer.

◊  Send food back if it is wrong – don’t worry; mistakes happen, just make sure the server understands the food needs to be remade completely.

◊  Bookmark a gluten free cheat sheet – have this with you at all times. This way if you have any questions about what is safe to eat, you can find out right away.

Gluten Free Menu Tips
Check out tips and key words to help you order gluten free.

Subway Adding Gluten Free Items
One of the largest fast food chains is adding 2 new gluten free items two their menu!