Tag Archives: Snickers

Gluten Free Chocolate Snickers Cookies

These cookies are truly divine. They are soft, rich and use two of my favorite candy bars; Dove Chocolates and Snickers!

Prep Time: 20 minutes
Baking Time: 10-12 minutes

Ingredients
1 bag Dove Milk Chocolate Miniatures
1/4 cup butter
1/4 cup firmly backed brown sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 cups multipurpose gluten free flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 bag Snickers Brand Miniatures, chopped

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 350°.
2. In large microwave-safe mixing bowl, melt all dove promises in microwave for 1 to 1-1/2 minutes. Stir the chocolate until smooth.
3. Add butter, sugar, eggs and vanilla. Stir in the flour and baking powder. Add 1 cup of chopped Snickers.
4. Drop heaping Tbsp of batter on to ungreased cookie sheet. Bake in preheated oven for 9-10 minutes. Cool on cookie sheet for 1-2 minutes. Move to wire rack to cook completely.

Be sure to move the cookies from the cookie sheet to the wire rack to cool completely. This will prevent cookies from crumbling. Enjoy!

Gluten Free Cream Cheese Cookies
Easy gluten free cream cheese frosting taste great with these soft, easy to make cookies.

Delectable Gluten Free Chocolate Dessert
Check out this simple chocolate dessert the whole family will enjoy.

Are Snickers Gluten Free?

Technically yes… According to Snickers website, the company has strict policies on clearly stating the eight most common allergenic foods: milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, soybeans and wheat.

A May contain <allergen>” statement is required to be clearly labeled in the ingredients section on every package for the eight common allergenic foods.

However, barley and rye are not included on the top 8 allergen list. This means barley and rye are not clearly labeled on the ingredients list, and at Mars snacks are at risk for gluten cross-contamination.

Milky Ways have barley, and if Snickers are made on the same equipment as them, the chance for cross-contamination is high enough not to risk for someone with Celiac.

It is important to listen to your body, and decide for yourself what you want to do. Maybe next time instead of grabbing a Snickers, grab a safer gluten free snack instead.

Is Coca Cola Gluten Free?
Is the caramel coloring in coca cola and other dark sodas safe to drink?

Mars Allergy Information
Check out more on Mars Snackfood US Policy on allergen labeling

If You Are Gluten Free, Avoid Snickers
See what others are saying about gluten and snickers’ ingredients.