Sorghum, also called milo and jowar, is a cereal grain used for a wide variety of gluten free mixes, beers and products.
Sorghum originated in Africa about 5000 years ago, where there is a rich tradition of brewing beer made from sorghum. Gluten free beers made with sorghum have recently become more popular in the gluten free market, since brewers have found sorghum to have similar fermentable sugars to barley.
This is why if you are transitioning to a gluten free life, I highly recommend beers made with sorghum. Not only are gluten free beers made from sorghum safe for celiacs, they also taste similar to beers made with barley, such as Heineken.
Baking Tips – For better volume and texture mix tapioca flour with sorghum to baked goods. Also add slightly more oil and eggs to recipes with sorghum blends to improve moisture content and texture.
Note - Always check ingredient labels for packaged foods, even frequently purchased items; ingredients are subject to change.
Sources: Sorghum – How to Use Sorghum in Gluten-Free Recipes By Teri Gruss, MS
Redbridge Gluten Free Beer Review
Check out a review of this gluten free beer made from sorghum.
Party Food Recipes
Check out which of these recipes will be perfect for your next event
Yes, JELL-O Gelatin, Cook & Serve Puddings and Instant Puddings are gluten free if you purchase Kraft in the United States. Kraft will not hide any gluten in their ingredients.
Kraft (U.S.) clearly states on all of their products if they contain:
wheat, barley, oats or rye
As for the any other brands, be sure to read the label carefully or call the manufacturer to verify they are gluten free. Be aware of modified corn starch – this can be a common gluten ingredient in pudding mixes.
Kraft – Choosing Gluten Free Foods
Learn more about Kraft’s gluten free products and regulations.
Gluten Free Pudding Cake
This rich pudding cake is extremely easy to make and taste great.
Okay, so being addicted to tea may be a little dramatic, however I had a true dependence on tea.
The tea I enjoy to drink is: green tea, caffeine free green tea and herbal teas. Some people are addicted to the caffeine in tea, but most of the teas I drink don’t contain any caffeine. Although there are many health benefits to drinking lots of tea; I was to the point where I had to have tea with me at all times – particularly after every meal.
When I stopped eating gluten, I realized my tea addiction quickly faded away. Although I’m still a tea junkie, I finally realized:
“I was using tea to settle many of my Celiac symptoms.”
Tea helped me digest my food, reduce my sinus symptoms and most importantly settle my stomach pains.
If you have noticed that you drink large amounts of tea. then you may want to check out other possible Celiac symptoms you may have. Be sure to consult with your doctor before experimenting with a gluten free life to ensure you are meeting all your proper needs.
What is Gluten?
Learn more about Celiac disease, the gluten free diet and gluten intolerance.
5 Simple Steps to a Gluten Free Lifestyle
Live a gluten free lifestyle with these simple steps.
Yes, vinegar is safe for Celiacs and anyone else living a gluten free lifestyle. Even if vinegar is made with wheat, it’s going to be gluten free because of the distillation process. According to the American Dietetic Association, the Vinegar Institution, the Food and Drug Administration, doctors and dieticians; there is no gluten in distilled vinegar.
This ongoing concern about using vinegar has been around for some time. Here are some common facts about vinegar:
- Vinegar is typically made with apples, grapes, corn beets and rice sugars
- All labels are required to say on the label if they were made with wheat
- Gluten peptides cannot make it through the distillation process
In the end, the best decision maker is you. Although the ongoing concern for vinegar will continue, vinegar doesn’t contain gluten. So if you are living a gluten free lifestyle don’t jump the gun to rule this ingredient out. However, be aware of malt vinegars and flavored vinegars if the labels are not information enough. But as always, if you tried using vinegar and it made you sick, then don’t use it.
Check out the gluten free food cheat sheet for determining safe gluten free ingredients.
Beware of… Jimmy John’s Cheese?
Check out why Jimmy John’s lettuce wraps may be making you sick.
Is Coca Cola Gluten Free?
Is the caramel coloring in coca cola and other dark sodas safe to drink?
There is an ongoing debate on whether or not eggs are good for you. Research shows adding more protein to your breakfast such as eggs, may help satisfy your appetite longer. Not only are eggs a high-quality protein, eggs are also gluten free and budget friendly. A medium egg contains less than 80 calories, and they are rich in vitamin D, vitamin B2 and vitamin B12.
The only eggs that are bad for you are raw or undercooked eggs. These eggs may contain salmonella bacteria, which can cause serious illness or even death. Be sure to make sure all your eggs are fully cooked before consuming.
Most concern around eggs is the cholesterol content. Although eggs contain cholesterol, it really isn’t a large amount. The only eggs to be concerned of are fried eggs. By frying eggs you still receive most of the nutrients, but you also consume fat from the oil used to fry the eggs. Frying eggs in extra virgin olive oil is not particularly bad for you, but using other oils with high fat such as vegetable oil can be high in fat content.
Always remember not all eggs are created equal. The health of the chicken is responsible for the quality of the eggs. Purchasing free range or organic eggs will provide you with higher quality eggs, and many people agree the eggs taste better.
Is Vinegar Safe for Celiacs?
Learn the truth about what the FDA and doctors are saying about vinegar.
Enhance the life of your produce with this simple guide.